Reading Response Blog #13

Ah, AGRIPPA, book of the dead. I can see why, the text moved so slow I nearly fell asleep trying to read it. I’m not really sure why it moves so slow, it actually really gets on my nerves. It’s like, is this thing really trying to tick me off? Because it’s working. I don’t know if it’s the program, the person controlling the program or what it is but it just bothers the heck outta me knowing that I just wanna scroll through the text so much faster. I don’t know what the writer of this program file is trying to create but the fact that you have a ridiculous amount of patience to read this just isn’t for me. I don’t have a lot of patience for reading things. I just like to do things and get them done and not have to wait what seemed like an endless amount of time to read something. I was just praying the whole text would magically start to move faster up the screen, but woah is me, it didn’t. I wish there was more variety in the speed. Like maybe start it slow, and move it faster in the exciting parts of the story, that would’ve made things more advanced with the plot as well. I would’ve just liked to see more than just an endless text. Also I kind of got distracted with some other things while reading this piece and had my sound on and nearly fell off my chair when all of a sudden a random sound exploded from my speakers. At first I wasn’t sure what it was and I was kinda freaking out. Otherwise, I’m going to be honest here, I didn’t have the patience to read this whole thing. I went in knowing that it was going to be a 20 minute video but I had no idea the text was going to literally crawl slowly up the screen making me want more out of it. I really wish that this was a program that we could all access and manipulate instead of helpless feel trapped into reading it. I don’t feel like it’s interactive in a sense because I don’t really think you can interact with it in any way. I think the only thing you could do is read the stanzas out of order, and if you can do that and call that interactive you could do that with almost anything. I’m not really sure what to think about this piece, I guess I’ll get everyone else’s opinions in class.

~ by tjg08 on April 26, 2010.

2 Responses to “Reading Response Blog #13”

  1. I didn’t really think the random music matched anything of what was going on in the text. It really bothered me too. I dont know if this was the point, but I think that if you are going to have any sounds, it needs to somewhat realte to the text in order for it to be relevant. I have to say that I do disagree with about the interactive part. I think that if you choose to read it you are being interactive, just at a different level. For example, when I do my homework I have to have the TV on. Im not really paying attention to it, but I could tell you what happened during the entire episode… kinda weird but true…

    • I suppose I agree with that. I mean by technical means it is interactive but I don’t really feel attached to it you know what I mean? I think that these things stimulate my mind more. If I had to choose between this or reading plain text I would choose this in a heartbeat. Maybe that’s a personal thing and that’s just in my case but I work diffrently than some people. Seeing stuff on a computer screen and seeing all these flashes and being able to click anywhere makes things more interesting to me.

Leave a comment